Monsters Unleashed Reading Order

After a barrage of events centered around heroes fighting heroes (Civil War 2, Inhumans vs. X-Men) fighting clones of themselves (Spider-Man: Clone Conspiracy), Marvel finally unleashes an event around the Marvel Heroes fighting a deluge of actual monsters!

Below you’ll find all the relevant issues of 2017’s Monsters Unleashed from Cullen Bunn and Steve McNiven, as well as connected prelude, tie-in and prologue issues to prepare you for the marvelous world of Marvel monsters.

Marvel's Monsters Unleashed comics reading order

Previously: Civil War 2

Previously: Inhumans vs X-Men

Monsters Unleashed Trade Reading Order

Monsters Vol. 1: The Marvel Monsterbus by Stan Lee, Larry Lieber, & Jack Kirby

Collects: Material From Strange Tales (1951) 67-70, 72-86; Journey Into Mystery (1952) 51-70; World Of Fantasy (1956) 15-19; Strange Worlds (1958) 1, 3-5; Tales To Astonish (1959) 1, 3-19; Tales Of Suspense (1959) 2-19

Monsters Vol. 2: The Marvel Monsterbus by Stan Lee, Larry Lieber & Jack Kirby

Collects: Material From Strange Tales (1951) 87-100; Strange Tales Annual (1962) 1; Journey Into Mystery (1952) 71-82; Tales To Astonish (1959) 20-34; Tales Of Suspense (1959) 20-38; Amazing Adventures (1961) 1-6; Chamber Of Darkness (1969) 4-5

Monsters Unleashed Prelude

Note that the Monsters Unleashed prelude includes a fair amount of overlap with the Marvel Monsterbus collections above, except at the greatly reduced $9.99 digital price.

Otherwise, this is a hodgepodge of issues to introduce or familiarize readers with Marvel monsters throughout Marvel Universe history.

Collects: Fearless Defenders #8, Marvel Zombies (2015) #1, Moon Girl And Devil Dinosaur #1, Totally Awesome Hulk #2-3 And Material From Strange Tales (1951) #73 & #90, Tales To Astonish (1959) #11-13, #15, #17, #19 And #23; And Tales Of Suspense #15, #17, #19 And #22

Monsters Unleashed: Monster-Size

Collects: Monsters Unleashed #1 to #5

Monsters Unleashed: Battleground

Collects: Avengers 1.Mu, Spider-Man/Deadpool 1.Mu, All-New X-Men 1.Mu, Champions 1.Mu, Doctor Strange 1.Mu, Uncanny Inhumans 1.Mu, Guardians Of The Galaxy 1.Mu, The Totally Awesome Hulk 1.Mu

Monsters Unleashed Comic Book Reading Order

Monsters Unleashed #1

Avengers #1.MU

Spider-Man/Deadpool #1.MU

Monsters Unleashed #2

All-New X-Men #1.MU

Monsters Unleashed #3

Doctor Strange #1.MU

Champions #1.MU

Uncanny Inhumans #1.MU

Monsters Unleashed #4

Guardians of the Galaxy #1.MU

The Totally Awesome Hulk #1.MU

Monsters Unleashed #5

2 Replies to “Monsters Unleashed Reading Order”

  1. Avengers 1.MU should come before Spider-Man/Deadpool 1.MU. At the end of Avengers we see something happen that leads into Spider-Man/Deadpool.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *