Rocket Raccoon Reading Order

One of the greatest tricks the Marvel Cinematic Universe ever pulled was convincing the world a bizarre 80’s miniseries named after a bad Beatles pun was one of the best characters in the world of Marvel Comics.

Despite those fascinating origins on Half-World from comics greats Bill Mantlo and Mike Mignola (creator of Hellboy), Rocket has evolved dramatically in modern Marvel Comics, becoming one of the most entertaining characters in their library.

Below you’ll find a complete list of Rocket Raccoon comics.

Rocket Raccoon Mantlo Mignola

Rocket Raccoon Reading Order

Rocket Raccoon & Groot: The Complete Collection

Although Rocket Raccoon: Tales from Half-World will get you the original Rocket four issue miniseries from Bill Mantlo and Mike Magnloa, the complete collection (with Groot) includes Rocket’s appearance in the Incredible Hulk.

Note that this complete collection also includes the Rocket and Groot backup stories that ran in Annihilators. These are best read after the modern Marvel Cosmic comics below, including Annihilation and the Abnett and Lanning Guardians of the Galaxy.

Collects: Tales to Astonish (1959) 13 (Groot story ), Incredible Hulk (1968) 271, Rocket Raccoon 1-4, Marvel Preview 7 (Sword in the Star story ), Annihilators 1-4 (Rocket Raccoon & Groot stories ), Annihilators : Earthfall 1-4 (Rocket Raccoon & Groot stories )

Abnett and Lanning Guardians

Rocket Raccoon joins the Guardians of the Galaxy

Modern Marvel Cosmic essentially begins with the mid-2000’s Annihilation event, and really takes off following the formation of the modern Guardians – Including Rocket! – in Annihilation Conquest.

If you want the straight goods, I recommend jumping to the Dan Abnett and Andy Lanning Guardians of the Galaxy run, which is where you’ll see Rocket Raccoon become the character we all know and love today.

Guardians of the Galaxy by Abnett & Lanning: The Complete Collection Volume 1

Guardians of the Galaxy by Abnett & Lanning: The Complete Collection Volume 2

Collects: Guardians of the Galaxy #1 to #25

Rocket Raccoon Skottie Young

Marvel NOW! Rocket Raccoon

Like most Guardians, the success of Guardians of the Galaxy in the Marvel Cinematic Universe led to an ongoing solo series for Mr. R. Raccoon.

For all of Rocket’s appearances in Marvel Comics, I’d also recommend Comic Book Herald’s Guardians of the Galaxy reading order, and the complete Marvel NOW! reading order.

Rocket Raccoon Volume 1: A Chasing Tale

Rocket Raccoon Vol. 2: Storytailer

Rocket Raccoon’s first ongoing series in 30 years from Skottie Young is a blast (sometimes literally), with my favorite use of sound effects in any Marvel comic of the 2000’s.

These are must read issues for any fan of Rocket Raccoon!

Rocket Raccoon & Groot Vol. 1: Tricks of the Trade

Rocket Raccoon & Groot Vol. 2

One Reply to “Rocket Raccoon Reading Order”

  1. I think the 6 issue Groot series from 2015 should be listed her as well. I think Rocket is in at least 3 of the issues and it deals with the relationship of the two.

    It takes place after the Rocket Raccoon series from 2014, but before the Rocket & Groot one.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *