Damian Wayne (Robin, Son of Batman) Reading Order

Damian Wayne is the Robin I loved to hate, hated to love, and by the time Grant Morrison’s creation and time with the character was over, simply thought was the best.

Damian’s the all time grumpy guss, somehow managing to even out crank Batman himself. Conceptually, there are a million ways Damian could have failed as the late 2000’s new Robin, but the Son of Batman and heir to the Al Ghul’s transcends any and all limitations.

Below you’ll find a reading order for Damian Wayne comics, from his introduction as the son Batman never knew he had, to partners with Richard Grayson as Batman and Robin, and through his time as Robin in the New 52 and DC Rebirth.

Related Reading Orders!

Batman reading order

Nightwing (Dick Grayson, Robin) reading order

Red Hood reading order

Red Robin (Tim Drake, Robin) reading order

Damian Wayne Robin Comics!

Grant Morrison's Son of Batman

Grant Morrison Introduces The Son of Batman, Damian Wayne

Batman: Batman and Son (New Edition)

In many ways, the heralded Batman by Grant Morrison arc of comics (stretching approximately 2006 to 2013) centers more around Damian Wayne than anyone.

The opening arc is, of course, no exception as Damian is introduced to the universe of Batman and Bruce Wayne. This is absolutely essential reading for any fan of Damian as Robin, as it explains both his origins and his possible futures.

Collects: Batman #655-658, #663-669 And #672-675

Batman: The Resurrection of Ra’s Al Ghul

Collects: Batman #670-671, Robin #168-169, Detective Comics #838-839, Nightwing #138-139, Batman Annual #26 And Robin Annual #7

Batman: R.I.P.

Collects: Batman #676 to #683

Batman: Battle for the Cowl

Collects: Batman: Battle For The Cowl #1-3, Gotham Gazette: Batman Dead? #1 And Gotham Gazette: Batman Alive? #1

In the wake of Grant Morrison and J.G. Jones DC Universe event, Final Crisis.

batman by grant morrison and frank quitely

A New Batman & Robin by Grant Morrison

Batman & Robin, Vol. 1: Batman Reborn

Collects: Batman & Robin #1-6

A part of the Grant Morrison Batman reading order, this marks the beginning of Dick Grayson’s time as Batman, and Damian Wayne’s official start as Robin.

Although Batman and Son is the essential background for Damian, Batman & Robin is the most entertaining, and my personal favorite Damian Wayne arc by Grant Morrison.

There’s something magic about the pairing of Richard Grayson trying to fill the mantle of the Bat alongside Damian’s first official stint as Robin. It’s fraught with understandable tension, and ultimately grows into one of the greatest examples of legacy in the DC Universe.

Batman & Robin Vol. 2 Batman vs. Robin

Collects: Batman & Robin #7 To #12

Batman & Robin, Vol. 3: Batman & Robin Must Die

Collects: Batman #13-16 And Batman: The Return #1

Teen Titans: Team Building

Collects: Teen Titans #88 to #92, Red Robin #20, Wonder Girl #1

The Teen Titans try out Damian Wayne for the team (hint: he’s not your father’s Titans material). Note that there’s some overlap between this and the subsequent Red Robin series of comics.

Batman & Robin: Dark Knight Vs. White Knight

Collects: Batman and Robin #17 to #25

I’ll be honest, I had completely forgotten Batman and Robin continued as a series after Grant Morrison’s arc stopped with issue #16!

Amazingly, the series continued from November 2010 until the New 52 in 2011.

Batman Incorporated

Collects: Batman Incorporated #1 To #8, Batman Incorporated: Leviathan Strikes #1

Although Batman Inc. spans the globe and a wide variety of international Batmen, this series is absolutely crucial to the conclusion of Grant Morrison’s time writing Damian.

batman and robin new 52

New 52 Robin Comics, Starring Damian Wayne

For a complete view of how all these Robin comic book fit within the DC Universe as a whole, I recommend Comic Book Herald’s complete DC New 52 reading order.

Batman and Robin Vol. 1: Born to Kill

Collects: Batman And Robin #1 To #6

The New 52 reboot gives us our first official look at Batman and Son as a declared Batman and Robin pairing.

Batman and Robin Vol. 2: Pearl

Collects: Batman And Robin #7 To #14

Batman Incorporated Vol. 1: Demon Star

Collects: Batman Incorporated #0-6

Morrison’s Batman run continues (and ultimately concludes) in the New 52. The most essential comics on Damian Wayne continue here.

Batman and Robin, Vol. 3: Death of the Family

Collects: Batman And Robin #15-17, Batman And Robin Annual #1 And Batman #17

Death of the Family tie-in issues, a Joker event running in core issues through Scott Snyder and Greg Capullo’s run on New 52 Batman.

You can find the completely complete Death of the Family reading order in Comic Book Herald’s New 52 reading order.

Batman Incorporated Vol. 2: Gotham’s Most Wanted

Collects: Batman Incorporated #7-13 And Batman Incorporated Special #1

The end of Grant Morrison’s Batman run, and his time creating and writing Damian Wayne!

Batman and Robin Vol. 4: Requiem for Damian

Collects: Batman & Robin #18 To #23

Gorgeous examination of Bruce’s connection to his son.

Batman And Robin Vol. 6: The Hunt For Robin

Collects: Batman And Robin #29-34, Robin Rises: Omega #1

I recommend reading in the following order:

Batman and Robin #29 to #32

Robin Rises: Omega #1

Batman and Robin #33 to #34

Batman and Robin Vol. 7: Robin Rises

Collects: Batman And Robin #35-40, Robin Rises: Alpha #1, And Batman And Robin Annual #3

I recommend reading the remainder of Robin Rises in the following order:

Batman and Robin #35 to #37

Robin Rises: Alpha #1

Batman and Robin #38 to #40

Batman Vol. 7: Endgame

Collects: Batman #35-40

Another plug to read Snyder and Capullo’s run on Batman, Endgame is the most epic clash between Batman and the Joker yet! The Joker’s mad schemes embroils all of Gotham, including the Robins. The status of Bruce Wayne will make more sense if you’re familiar with the events of endgame and the ensuing Batman comics.

Robin Son of Batman

Robin: Son of Batman Vol. 1: The Year of Blood

Damian gets his first ongoing solo series from DC!

Collects: Robin: Son Of Batman #1-6

Batman and Robin Eternal Vol. 1

Collects: Batman And Robin Eternal #1-13

Batman & Robin Eternal Volume 2

Collects: Batman And Robin Eternal #14 To #26

Robin War

Collects: Robin War #1-2, Robin: Son Of Batman #7, Grayson #15, Detective Comics #47, We Are Robin #7, Gotham Academy #13, Red Hood/Arsenal #7 And Teen Titans #15

Robin War Reading Order:

Robin War #1

Grayson #15

Detective Comics #47

We Are Robin #7

Red Hood / Arsenal #7

Robin: Son of Batman #7

Gotham Academy #13

Teen Titans #15

Robin War #2

Robin: Son of Batman #8

Robin: Son of Batman Vol. 2: Dawn of the Demons

Collects: Robin: Son Of Batman #7-13

Teen Titans Rebirth

DC Rebirth Robin Comics, Starring Damian Wayne

Teen Titans Vol. 1: Damian Knows Best

Collects: Teen Titans #1-6 And Teen Titans: Rebirth #1

Superman Vol. 2: Trials of the Super Son

Collects: Superman #7-13

The Super Son meets Damian Wayne.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *